Reflections

The journey away from being abused is a long and winding journey, and Dissident Girl talks eloquently about the positives she experiences here.

Dissident Girl

I had this grand plan in the beginning, that after a year I would be able to write something positive and hopeful. That obviously didn’t happen.

I have no profound observations to make, and my head is still not really in a space for writing, but I do want to try and include some positive reflections here on how life has changed for me for the better since removing myself from that abusive situation.

In no particular order, here are some of the things that have made me smile, brought me comfort, or made me feel like I’ve achieved something – basically some of the reasons I’m glad and grateful I’ve had this opportunity and been able to experience the world without abuse:

– progressed from forgetting to turn the lights on to being a fairly confident light switch operator.

– had my first landline installed and have tentatively…

View original post 879 more words

Author:

I am a writer and activist in the campaign to end violence against women and girls, often referred to as Gender Based Violence, or GBV. My book WITNESS was published in November 2016 and is available from my website: www.witnessbykittynolan.com

Leave a Reply

